From the Counseling Office


Summer Enrichment Programs 2018

There are hundreds of amazing and valuable programs available for secondary students to participate in during the summer break. Throughout Europe, Canada, USA and Australia students can get involved in subject-specific programs, programs offering combinations of fun, travel, cultural learning, languages, adventure, sport or academic preparation. A quick Google search using keywords such as summer camps Europe will yield a host of opportunities.

Below is a brief list of some programs that might be of value to older Secondary students. Universities sponsor some of these; others use university facilities to run their programs. Some offer financial support and some are free. This is by no means a comprehensive list, so if you are considering such a program for your summer break, please research the options thoroughly. The IST counselors are always available to discuss the value of any programs that you might be considering.

University Tours

Following are companies with organized tours.

TS College Tours – www.tscollegetours.com or email enquiries@tscollegetours.com or tsturgeon@tscollegetours.com

College Visits – www.college-visits.com or email info@college-visits.com

Students are always welcome to set up campus visits directly with the admissions office universities of interest.

Academic Programs – IBDP

OxBridge Academic Programs (Oxford, Cambridge, New York, Spain, France) www.oxbridgeprograms.com or email info@oxbridgeprograms.com

OSC – Oxford IB Study Courses – www.osc-ib.com

St Clare's Oxford – IB Sumer courses - http://www.stclares.ac.uk/summer

International Summer Courses, Ltd.www.ibsummerschool.com

IBWise – IB revision camps - http://www.ibwise.com/

Summer Programs at Universities

University of Miami Summer Scholars Program. - www.miami.edu/ssp and http://www.continuenow.miami.edu/acton/rif/3704/s-0599-1502/-/l-56a3:145/l-56a3/showPreparedMessage?sid=Dy8kftu2Z or email ssp@miami.edu or umcontinue@miami.edu>

Boston University Investigative Journalism Workshop. http://studentprograms.necir.org/high-school-summe...

US Air Force Academy Summer Seminar - https://www.academyadmissions.com/admissions/outre...

American Camp Association - http://find.acacamps.org/

IB World Student Conferences, Australia, Canada and UK. - http://ibo.org/wsc/

Florida Institute of Technology - http://camps.fit.edu/

Summer Discoverywww.summerdiscovery.com

Yale Young Global Scholars - http://globalscholars.yale.edu/about-us- or email global.scholars@yale.edu

Brown University Pre-College Programs - http://www.brown.edu/academics/pre-college/ or email summer@brown.edu

Harvard College Prepwww.summer.harvard.edu/ssp

The George Washington Universityhttp://summer.gwu.edu/

USC Continuing Education and Summer Programs - http://continuingeducation.usc.edu/

The Princeton University Summer Journalism Program (New Jersey) - www.princeton.edu/sjp/

Live and Learn at Barnard College in New York Citywww.barnard.edu/precollege

Summer Programs at Johns Hopkins - www.jhu.edu/summer/

Columbia University Summer Programswww.ce.columbia.edu/High-School-Programs-Homepage

Experience Berkeley! - www.stileshall.org/our-programs/experience-berkeley/

Center for Talented Youth Program at Princeton University www.cty.jhu.edu/summer/princeton/index.html

Summer at Georgetown University (Washington, DC) http://scs.georgetown.edu/departments/21/summer-pr...

Marist Summer Pre-college programs: Two exceptional locations, New York and Italywww.marist.edu/precollege

Marist Summer Pre-college programs; Fashion Design http://www.marist.edu/summerinstitutes/?utm_source...

University of Toronto Schools - https://www.summerabroad.utoronto.ca/index.php/program/overview

Harvard Secondary School Programme - www.summer.harvard.edu/ssp

The University of HongKongwww.hku.hk/summer

Dartmouth Bound - www.dartmouth.edu/admissions/bound/

Cornell Summer College‐ Academic Programs - www.summercollege.cornell.edu

Utrecht Academic programs in the Netherlands - www.utrechtsummerschool.nl

Stony Brook University - http://http://www.stonybrook.edu/commcms/explore/

International Study and Language Institute – University of Reading - www.reading.ac.uk/iss. www.reading.ac.uk/study-int-meet.aspx.

Imperial Global Summer School or email globalsummerschool@imperial.ac.uk

Imperial College London Faculty of Medicine Summer School 2015: Revolutions in Biomedicine - www.imperial.ac.uk/medicine/summerschool

JSA Summer programs at Princeton, Stanford, Georgetown and University of Virginia, for a digital brochure go to; http://issuu.com/lguillemette/docs/jsa-2015_20pgbr..., for more inofrmation, go to; http://summer.jsa.org or email; larry_guillemette@jsa.org

Washington & Jefferson summer English Language program - http://www.washjeff.edu/english-language-institute or email kcrosby@washjeff.edu

Programs including Creative and Performing Arts, Recreational, Leadership, Service, Business, Internships

MICA - Pre-College Art and Design (Baltimore and Tuscany, Italy) http://www.mica.edu/Programs_of_Study.html

Babson Entrepreneur Development Experience –www.babson.edu/summerstudy

US Performing Arts Campwww.usperformingarts.com

The University for Creative Careers (SCAD)http://www.scad.edu/academics/pre-college-summer-p...

Otis College of Art and Design: Summer of Art - www.otis.edu/soa

CRF's Expanding Horizons Internships (Los Angeles) - http://www.crf-usa.org/youth-internship-program/expanding-horizons-internships.html

California College of the Arts‐ Art Programs - www.cca.edu/precollege

Camp Up With People - Camp Horizonswww.camphorizonsva.com

Academy of Business Leadership (UCLA,LMU,USC,CSULA,CSUF,CSUDH & SMC) - www.goabl.org

National Student Leadership Conference (universities in New York, San Francisco, Chicago or Washington, DC) - www.nslcleaders.org/www.nslcleaders.org/scholarships.html (scholarship link)

TASIS Academics, Travel and Enrichment in a boarding environment in Europe - http://summer.tasis.com/

Global Young Leaders Conference Leadership and Government - www.cylc.org/gylc

African Leadership Academy Global Scholars Program - http://alasummer.org/

Barnard in partnership with Columbia University – Barnard Summer in New York - www.barnard.edu/summer

amanda.victoor@ubc.ca or summer.scholars@ubc.ca

Modul University, Vienna. Summer Program - https://www.modul.ac.at/l or email summerprogram@modul.ac.at.

STAMPS School of Art and Design, pre college programs - http://stamps.umich.edu/pre-college or email ad-summer@umich.edu.

Science, Technology, Engineering, Pre-Medicine, Math Programs

COSMOS - California State Summer School for Mathematics and Science - www.ucop.edu/cosmos/

Penn Engineering Summer Academy in Applied Science and Technology- www.Seas.upenn.edu/saast

Engineer Your Life www.engineeryourlife.org

Engineering Go For It - www.egfi-k12.org

CA State Summer School for Math and Science (Davis, Irvine, Santa Cruz, San Diego) www.ucop.edu/cosmos

Engineering Possibilities in College (Cal Poly, SLO)www.epic.calpoly.edu

Santa Clara University California Summer Engineering Seminarwww.scu.edu/engineering/undergraduate/ses.cfm

Besant Hill School; Ojai, California Summer Science Program - www.summerscience.org

iD Tech Camps http://www.idtech.com/

Boston University Summer Term High School Programs. www.bu.edu/summer/highschool

Summer Programme in Scotland - www.internationalsummercampuk.com.

Sheena Wright

Head of Counseling Department