the IST Board

Role of the Board


The International School of Tanganyika (IST) is governed by an elected Board comprised of parents of students currently enrolled at IST. The Board is responsible for IST’s policy and finances; its primary focus is long term and strategic. Board members are volunteers who serve for terms of three years.

International school of tanganyika board

Board Members 2017 - 18

Board Members 2017-18

  • Stina Haldorsen - Chair
  • Sona Shah - Vice Chair
  • Jose Nunes - Treasurer and Convener of the Finance Committee
  • Lauren Ladenson - Secretary
  • Priscila Izar - Convener of the Education Committee
  • Tingret Yirdaw - Convener of the Governance Committee
  • Hiran Sumanaweera - Convener of the Buildings and Facilities Committee
  • Naomi Brown
  • Deborah Crowe
  • Francis Kibhisa
  • Robert Spence
  • Mark Hardeman, ex-officio

The International School of Tanganyika is proud to be accredited by / a member of these respected organisations:

Child protection is extremely important. IST’s Child Protection Policy (Section 7.15 >>) together with procedures to verify the previous employment for new job applicants is part of our commitment to ensure all members of the IST community are informed and educated regarding symptoms of child abuse for the protection of all of our students.